Filing Cache Folder
Summary
The Filing Cache folder stores copies of emails that are Pending, giving an error, or have been filed most recently, but is limited to maximum of 1GB. Once it reaches this size, the older filed copies drop off to make way for the newer ones.
When a user files an email, Mail Manager saves a copy in the Filing Cache folder first, then uploads it to the filing location.
Pending emails once filed or errors once resolved, will be removed/be in the folder as filed.
The filed emails are left in the cache so that they can be accessed via the Ideagen Mail Manager Search even if you are not connected to the network.
However you can restrict the size of the folder if you wish, but for laptop users particularly that may need to open filed emails away from the network, then we would suggest leaving it at this size or only partially restricting it.
Updating the Size of the Cache
You can restrict the size of the folder as follows:
Add the line: CacheSizeMbLimit=1000 to the EmailFiling.cfg (or AdminEmailFiling.cfg if you are using a Shared Config folder for all users. See *Note below).
Changing the value of 1000 will change the size limit accordingly. ie changing to 500 will halve the size of the folder.
The default is 1000 (i.e. 1 GB). A value of zero means that items will only be present in the cache if they do not have a status of completed, cancelled or cancelling when next checked.
The check occurs at the "Full Activity interval", which by default is every 15 minutes.
With the CacheSizeMbLimit=0:
- Filing works as normal.
- Filed emails are removed from the cache in Mail Manager’s daily clean-up. A copy can stay on the device for up to about a day after filing.
- Emails that haven’t filed yet (for example because the location is unavailable) stay in the cache until they file or are cancelled. Unfiled emails are cancelled automatically after 20 days, and you can shorten this with an additional config line
#AutoCancelFilingDays. Again this is added to the EmailFiling.cfg (or AdminEmailFiling.cfg if you are using a Shared Config folder for all users. See *Note below). Users can no longer open, move or copy older filed emails from the cache in the Filing Activity view, and older completed items drop off that list. They can still open filed emails from the filing location.
* Note: As this is not a standard setting, if you are adding the line to the AdminEmailFiling.cfg, after saving the file you should use the MMAdminPreferences.exe to open the AdminEmailFiling.cfg and then click ‘Save’.